es   en   de  
(+34) 971 34 81 31   
On-Line Booking
  • Christian settlements, the island filled stone defensive towers from which to scan the horizon for Barbary pirate schooners
  • More about Ibiza

Ibiza, called Eivissa in Catalan, is an island set in the Mediterranean which is part of the Autonomous Community of the Balearic Islands in Spain.  It has a surface area of 570 km² and a population of 125,053 (Spanish National Statistics Institute 2008). It has 210 km of coastline, with lots of small rocky outcrops. The maximum distances on the island are 41 km from north to south and 15 km from east to west.

It is located some 79 km to the east of the Iberian Peninsula, across the water from Denia, and to the north of Formentera. Its coordinates are 38.98° N 1.43° E. The island of Ibiza is divided into 5 municipalities: Eivissa, Sant Antoni de Portmany, Sant Joan de Labritja, Sant Josep de sa Talaia and Santa Eulària des Riu. Its capital city is Ibiza, (Eivissa, in Catalan), the municipality with the greatest density in terms of demography and the greatest importance in terms of administration and culture. The town with the second largest population is Santa Eulària, followed by Sant Antoni, Sant Josep and Sant Joan. The population of the island increases considerably during the summer months due to the influx of tourists.

The islands of Ibiza and Formentera are also known as the Islas Pitiusas or Pine Islands. They make up a different Archipelago than that which includes Majorca and Menorca although nowadays people talk about the Balearic Archipelago and they are all part of the same administrative unit. The only river in the Balearic Islands, that of Santa Eulària des Riu, flows through it.

Site map           Legal Notice           Contact           Work with us

Blau Parc Hotels.
All rights reserved © Ramón Costa, S.L.